We believe that children learn best by doing things they enjoy.

Therefore, our aim is to make learning stimulating, practical and above all, enjoyable. Using the 2014 National Curriculum, our pupils are taught through a carefully planned programme of challenging activities designed to build confidence and inspire children to nurture a life-long passion for learning.

Here at Garfield, English and Maths lessons take place each morning, with Science and the foundation subjects taught in the afternoons. Garfield is a storytelling school, which means all pupils are taught six stories every year and this drives the whole curriculum. As far as possible a cross-curricular, thematic approach is used. A story is taught and a theme from the story is applied across a year group each half term. By adding this dimension to learning we are able to provide opportunities for key skills to develop across the entire curriculum and to cultivate more creative thinking.

During the year we have themed weeks, such as Book Week, Arts Week and STEM Week (Science, Technology, Engineering, Maths), which allow children to develop their skills in a more focused way. Educational visits reinforce learning taking place in the classroom and we enjoy visits from a variety of experts including musicians, historians and scientists. We also benefit from the help of parent volunteers who work alongside teachers during Guided Reading, and we welcome input from any parents who would like to offer their expertise in any curriculum areas.

We teach all the elements of the syllabus of the 2014 National Curriculum for both core (English, Maths and Science) and foundation subjects (History, Geography, Computing, Music, Art and Design, Physical Education, Design and Technology and French in KS2). Religious Education is a statutory requirement and we follow the Merton Agreed Syllabus.

Children from Years 1 -6 are assessed in relation to age-related expectations (AREs,) using ‘Herts for Learning’, a system developed in Hertfordshire and adopted by Merton schools.

Our Early Years Foundation Stage children experience the seven areas of learning required, organised under the following areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Physical Development
  • Expressive Art and Design

These areas underpin the organisation of the learning environment; the activities provided for children and the monitoring of childrens’ progress and development.

Please see the National Curriculum Framework and Subject Programmes of Study for more details on the Government website:

If you have any questions about what your child is learning at school do not hesitate to arrange a time to discuss it further with your child’s teacher.


Curriculum Maps


Curriculum Booklets


Our Storytelling Curriculum

Storytelling provides a natural way of developing rich and active story language for children to recycle in their own story making and writing. In a storytelling school, all pupils are taught six stories every year, closely linked to their curriculums. This is planned as one story each half-term, from EYFS to Year 6. Creative storytelling teaching methods drive the entire curriculum.

Storytelling schools usually start off with oral tradition stories, as they are the most easily told. Once mastered, storytelling techniques can then be applied to non-fiction, literary stories, History, Geography, Science - almost anything where there is a sequence to be learned. After it has been learned orally, the story is linked to the objectives for that half-term. In English, this will include shared and independent writing, innovation and invention, and non-fiction text types. For other subjects, such as History and Science, the content of the story provides the basis for further explorations of the topic.

This short video explains the Storytelling Schools model:  Storytelling Schools Video

The Storytelling Schools website is a rich resource for parents, teachers and children: 

The following videos from Oxford Owl suggest ways to support your child with reading and comprehension:

Their full range of videos covering the whole curriculum can be found on the website here:

This book list shows the core text studied each half term in every year group. It would be very helpful for your child to read the book with you during the holiday preceding the topic, to familiarise them with the story before they delve deep in class. All books should be available in local libraries.

Core Texts by Year

 RSE: Relationships Education

 Garfield Relationships Education Progression Map